Home » Devotionals » Resurgence

Resurgence

by Lovrell Blanco

“This is what the high and lofty One says he who lives forever, whose name is holy: “I live in a high and holy place, to revive the spirit of the lowly and to revive the heart of the contrite.” Isaiah 57:15

 Resurgence. “What does this word mean?” I once asked when I first heard of it. Our representative answered, “It is a revival.”

“Revival of what?” I continued.

Most of the missionaries assigned here in South Korea are alone in their respective mission fields. Missionaries by two’s are just too few that you could just count them with your fingers. Working alone in a world wherein you cannot communicate well weakens your interests, vigor, and I could say, spirit. You long to see your friends and batch mates, but unfortunately they are hundreds of kilometers away from you. Visiting them is also not an option since you have a lot of things to do every day. You could not just drop your tasks and go. Some missionaries are already counting down their remaining days of stay, even when it has been only a few months since they arrived in their mission fields.

“I want to go home now,” some of us would exclaim. More grumbles would go like these: “I have no one to talk to; I cannot understand the sermon every Sabbath.”

We have a lot of complaints and longings. However, after six months of seclusion, we could say at last, “I can see my friends; I can laugh out loud; My heart can enjoy to the fullest. I can do a lot of things that I cannot do in my mission field alone.”

Yes, that’s resurgence! You are bringing back the ones who were asleep into activity and prominence. The ones who seem like prisoners bound by chains are now alive and very active. Yes, you are socially revived but are you spiritually renewed?

“If any man would come after me, he must take up his cross daily and follow me.” (Luke 9:23) This is daily renewal, daily revival. Do not just wait for that meeting after every six months and depend on it to be revived, but instead, with patience and humility, endure without complaints the loneliness and the culture differences. Continually act as one who is being “sent” to represent Him in your mission field. Pray, for God Himself promised that He will revive your lowly spirit and your contrite heart. God alone can fill the emptiness of your heart. “Renew and be revived daily and follow Me,” Christ bade you.

3 thoughts on “Resurgence

  1. very nice and inspiring Mr. Prexy……Thank you and may God continue to bless you and your administration….

    • May the Lord empower us with wisdom to discern what is for the better of CV, and may He will give the missionaries the spirit of participation…jejeje

Leave a Reply

