Home » Devotionals » Speaking Out for God

Speaking Out for God

by Analiza Maluya

“For if you remain silent at this time, relief and deliverance for the Jews will arise from another place, but you and your father’s family will perish. And who knows but that you have come to royal position for such a time as this?” Then Esther sent this reply to Mordecai: “Go, gather all the Jews who are in Susa, and fast for me. Do not eat or drink for three days, night or day. I and my maids will fast as you do. When this is done, I will go to the king, even though it is against the law. And if I perish, I perish.” Esther 4:14-16 (NIV)

The story of Queen Esther reminded me of how important it is to be courageous in speaking out for the truth. Being courageous means being faithful to God. On our own we are nothing. Just like any musical instrument, if it is not used by human hands, it will not produce any sound. So as with us, if we do not allow ourselves to be used by God, the people around us may not know the God we are serving or they might not see Jesus in us.

One day, after my English Bible Class (with 8 middle adult students), one of my students asked me this question, “Ann, are you willing to die for God?” After that question, there was a moment of silence among my students, and they looked at me waiting for my answer. I paused for a while, and without hesitation I told them, “Before, I didn’t have that faith in God, but since I’ve found God and had faith in Him, I am willing to die for HIM.”

I couldn’t describe their facial expressions after they heard my answer. I looked at them and most just bowed their heads and seemed to be contemplating on that question. Another student had a follow-up question, “How can we have faith?”

We all have been given the opportunity to speak out for the truth or to be a witness for Christ. What we need to do is to cling to the words of God. Jesus says in Acts 1:8 (NIV),

“But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you; and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, and all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.”

God promised that He will give us power. This is the power that God has given to Queen Esther when she voiced out for the truth. Queen Esther received power from God through prayer and fasting. (More prayer, more power! Less prayer, less power! No prayer, no power!) We should always pray to God for courage to take risks, courage to speak out for Him even at the cost of our lives.

Like Queen Esther, now that I have this faith in Him, I am willing to face mortality just to speak out for the truth. “If I die, I will die for God’s work.”

“ARE YOU WILLING TO RISK YOUR LIVES JUST TO SPEAK OUT FOR THE TRUTH?”

2 thoughts on “Speaking Out for God

  1. Pingback: Such a Time as This | YOU DECIDE

  2. Pingback: When God Speaks-Do You Listen? | YOU DECIDE

Leave a Reply

