Home » Devotionals » Claiming God’s Promises

Claiming God’s Promises

by Vrecelle Bagnol

 “I do set my bow in the cloud, and it shall be for a token of a covenant me and the earth.” Genesis 9:13

It was after the most awful storm and destruction that Noah and his family saw their first rainbow. What a comfort it must have been to them to know that the rainbow was the sign of God’s promise, that the waters should no more become a flood to destroy all flesh. Only God could make a rainbow and only God can comfort in a time of fear and sorrow.

It was only a few months ago when my father was diagnosed to have a cyst growing in his lungs. All of us panicked. I even regretted my decision of extending for another year in my mission field, when I know how much my father longs to have me on his side. We prayed like we’ve never prayed before. We prayed that may everything be alright with him. Just when I got home, I met my loving Papang, twice thinner than he was before. But I saw a joyful countenance on his face, telling me of the hope he has in Christ. These instances ever remind me of God’s promises. I’m sure that in spite of floods, storms, fear, illnesses and sadness, all will be well someday if we only we put our trust in Him.

Are there clouds of trouble or sorrow all around you today? Look for a rainbow and remember God’s promises.

“Satan seeks to draw our minds away from the Mighty Helper…When Satan thrusts his threatenings upon you, turn from them, and comfort your soul with the promise of God. The cloud may be dark in itself, but when filled with the light of heaven, it turns to the brightness of gold; for the glory of God rests upon it.” Messages to Young People, pp. 109 – 110

5 thoughts on “Claiming God’s Promises

  1. John 16:13

    “So with you now: Now is your time of grief, but I will see you again and you will rejoice, and no one will take away your joy.”

    A wonderful promise to cling to., isn’t it?… knowing that the one who promised is faithful, it should bring strength and comfort to us (Vrecelle and me), ….Be strong, Celle…We’re praying for your family…

  2. A friend once told me, that when we know that we doing His will and obeying His words…then we have the confidence to claim His promises.

    “This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us. And if we know that he hears us—whatever we ask—we know that we have what we asked of him.” 1 John 5:14-15

  3. Pingback: God’s voice loud and clear « still counting stars

Leave a Reply

