Home » Devotionals » lil’ hug

lil’ hug

by Denise Ariel Cadiz

 “And he said: Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.” Matt. 18:3 (NIV)

I treasure that day when a little boy taught me a great lesson. Whenever I remember that day, my heart would melt. It never fails to make me smile. It was a moment that would surely stay with me for a lifetime.

There was this day when all of my kids were being so hard to deal with. They shouted here and there. Some had let their classmates cry. As a result, I punished them hard, too. Some were crying because of the heavy punishment that I gave–squatting with their arms forward. I didn’t care if they became so tired. I angrily shouted at some, strongly hitting my stick on the board, chairs and table. Then the class was filled with silence. Everybody in the class was quiet, seated with hands folded on the table, as what I usually require them to do. I’ve noticed that some were crying silently with tears falling from their eyes. I felt a bit relieved because I saw them suffering and I could easily handle them then. And so we continued with our class. Before we ended, we recited the prayer song altogether to close the class. After which, some almost flew, running out of the classroom. I stayed in my chair. Then came the naughtiest eight year old student to me saying, “Teacher, teacher…”

I replied, “WAE?”

What he did next was very unexpected. He sat on my lap and hugged me so tight. I didn’t know what to do and how to react at that time. I’m a person who doesn’t easily cry. But at that time I was so touched that I couldn’t help myself. I just cried while he was still hugging me. I completely felt relieved and at peace. My heart was filled with joy and gladness. This little kid taught me not to hold on to grudges, realizing and remembering what Jesus taught us in Matthew 18:3 to be like these little ones. Then he looked at me smiling and said, “Bye, bye teacher.”

I couldn’t afford not to smile at that time–all because of a comforting, warm hug.

 Everyone wants to change, but change demands desire and discipline before it becomes delightful. There is always the agony of choice before the promise of change. –LARRY LEA

4 thoughts on “lil’ hug

  1. li’l kids are so cute ..! their li’l hearts are actually bigger than we think they are!!!love it when they give their li’l kisses and hugs esp. when their li’l hands are clasped in ours!!^^ ❤

Leave a Reply

