Home » Devotionals » Hope Against Spiritual Angst

Hope Against Spiritual Angst

by Lordjane Mandar

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV)
For so long I blankly gaze on these walls of my daze,
I breathe a sigh, letting within me a silent cry
On this condition, I need to look on the lighter side,
Lest the tempter’s deception drags me into hell.
I do not want to feel I’m living like in a cell.
When I look beside me, there’s a Holy Book You wrought.
I gently shut mine eyes and I utter a prayer,
Dear Lord, I whisper, You made me feel a lot better;
You verily know the will of my true happiness.
Spiritually lethargic, make me enthusiastic.
Please, fashion me to lead the message of Your great love,
To teach every dying soul that there’s hope set above.
I will rise now; I’m out to flee of this misery;
My sinfulness makes me so vile and unworthy.
Oh God, let Your divine decrees be my optimist’s creed.
I better choose to suffer and die in Your own midst.

As a missionary, legions from the dark side are doubling their time to tempt us. The enemy is working too much to snatch our bright future with God. They are most powerful if we are persistently attacked with boredom and depression and it really pays to learn from our mistakes and take control of our emotions in a positive way.

Reading the Holy Scriptures and doing our Christian duty in an inconsistent way cannot sustain us to be righteous. One must self-deny, for we cannot depend on our efforts for salvation. We need to have God’s infinite mercy and His grace.

Leave a Reply

