Home » Devotionals » Not Mine, But God’s

Not Mine, But God’s

by Jermelyn Ermita

“Why did you put me in this place, Lord? This is not my assigned mission field. I’m supposed to be in Bundang Church and not in the ECKC office.”

These were the musings of my unsettled mind. But I laid everything in His capable hands. As Romans 8: 28 says, “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him–for those who have been called according to His purpose.”

I am their first missionary here. So we started all the planning, advertising, etc. One of my tasks is to have English sessions with the ECKC president and directors using the Sabbath School lesson as our material. It is not an easy task because they are pastors and they are more knowledgeable than me in regards with what is in the Bible. I felt that I’m not capable to be their facilitator as well as instructor. At first I was really anxious and worried. But when I remembered God’s promise in Philippians 4:6 that goes, “Do not be anxious about anything but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving present your requests to God,” my anxiety level lowered.

Unexpected challenges aroused and the most painful thing about it was that the person involved is not just anybody but the one that I treated as my sister (because we lived together and I respected her so much). It really came to the point where I wanted to go home because I thought I really couldn’t survive. I’m so weak emotionally. But I pondered the words in 2 Chronicles 20:15,

“Do not be afraid or discouraged because of this vast army. For the battle is not yours, but God’s.”

Yes! Why should I surrender? This battle is not mine, but God’s. I only have to stand still and have faith for God will fight for me. So I kept going despite the challenges that I encounter every now and then.

One day that person told me she is sorry for what she did. And in my mothers’ class, one mother verbalized, “Thank you for letting me know about God. It was my first time to hear about Him and I want to know Him more.”

Those instances made me realize that God put me in this place because He has work for me to do and He wants me to trust Him more despite the challenges and unexpected circumstances.

2 thoughts on “Not Mine, But God’s

Leave a Reply

