Home » Devotionals » A Renewed Heart

A Renewed Heart

by Maribern Sillar (35th Batch)

“Anything for the Lord…”

I used to say these words before, not thinking how heavy they actually mean. I’ve been here for more than two months but everyday is like Day 1 for me. I cannot understand everything; I always wake up with a heavy burden in my heart; and, I always pray to God to please not harden my heart toward the kids (and not just them but also toward my workmates).

Sometimes I feel it is useless to pray because it isn’t working. But I ignore that feeling because I know that while I am working for the Lord Satan is also working to destroy my efforts for Him. So despite that feeling, I just continued praying. A great realization dawned on me when one day I read this message from the devotional Our High Calling:

TO HAVE A NEW HEART IS TO HAVE A NEW MIND, NEW PURPOSES, NEW MOTIVES and WHAT IS THE SIGN OF A NEW HEART? A CHANGED LIFE.

These words made me realize I need a new heart to love and accept these people.

I still cannot understand their behavior until now and everyday is still like the first time for me, but I let God carry my burdens. Doing that makes my work lighter. Now I’m starting to love and accept them even though their attitude would never change, as what the author of the book If You Can’t Beat Them, Join Them suggests.

May we never forget to fasten ourselves in Christ in every situation we are in. God bless us all!

One thought on “A Renewed Heart

  1. “If You Can’t Beat Them, Join Them”
    wow..love this line. ..
    I feel the same way too, Thanks for sharing bern. I feel so blessed reading this article
    Thank you Lord for using you.^^

Leave a Reply

