Home » Devotionals » Are You Really That Skilled?

Are You Really That Skilled?

by Cherry Mae Macumbo (35th Batch)

For the last couple of months since I arrived here in the land of the morning calm, I had been telling God this: “What have I done, Lord? You gave me a mission field where I teach for only two hours, leaving me lots of time to be idle!”

Then I started comparing my present place to my previous mission fields–a 10-month term in Agoncillo, Batangas and an extension of two months in Talaingod, Davao Del Norte. Both places molded and helped me a lot especially in times when I carried heavy burdens. The experiences in those places challenged me to work harder and made me learn many things. I have given all my effort before and I’m sure I did a pretty great job. I felt success and fulfillment. But now that I’m here in a foreign land, it seems like everything I gained turned out for nothing. It is written in Proverbs 2:29:

“Do you see a man skilled in his work? He will serve before kings; he will not serve before obscure men.”

Because of this verse, I reconstructed my question to: “What am I doing, Lord? Did I really work hard?”

Now I realized that my previous missionary work is not enough. And so God gave me another chapter of it to see if I’m already a skilled workman. To carry it out, I need time and energy. And that’s it! I got the answer to my first question.

Chosen vessels of God, are you skilled in your work?  We need to have the time, energy, and self-discipline (Heb. 12:11.) Remember, hard work pays off (1 Cor. 15:58) and diligence is rewarded most in the spiritual world (Eph. 6:9). We will be serving before kings and, most of all, the King of kings. Stick with King Jesus and by His grace, you’ll see the transformation!

Leave a Reply

