Home » Devotionals » Servant

Servant

by Margie Mae U. Pomoy (36th Batch)

 “Serve wholeheartedly, as if you were serving the Lord, not men, because you know that the Lord will reward everyone for whatever good he does.” Ephesians 6:7, 8

Upon coming to Korea, I didn’t know what else would I be doing aside from being a missionary English teacher. My partner just brought me to the school we are assigned and oriented me of what I need to do each morning when I arrive and every evening before I leave. I found out that aside from teaching, I had to wipe shelves and students’ desks, vacuum and mop the floor, wash dishes and watch over the kids from the moment they enter the school premises.

It is really hard work and one may think it isn’t missionary work. So I’m really impressed with those missionaries who had extended their terms here in Korea. What keeps them going? It is even hard to baptize a single soul here or to preach. Then I asked myself, too. What keeps me going as a teacher or missionary?

By reading the Bible and Steps to Christ each day, I’ve found answers to everything that I’ve been doing here. It is God who works in us according to His purpose. And so, we must do everything without complaining (Phil. 2:13, 14) but with a loving spirit let us perform life’s humblest duties or lowliest positions (SC pp. 82, 83) as working for the Lord (Col. 3:23), not just for our students or co-teachers or pastors.

So whether I mop the floor or wash dishes or run errands, I do it with a joyful heart because I’m working for the Lord who wills in me. Let us then engage in helping those who need our help to the extent of our abilities (SC p. 80)–teaching English, looking over our students, cleaning classrooms, etc.

Whatever we do, let’s do it wholeheartedly. Let us not wait for great occasions or expect extraordinary abilities or jobs relating to missionary work before we give our best to the Lord (SC p. 83), for God rewards His faithful servant. Trust me, He just did!

2 thoughts on “Servant

  1. Amen sister!!
    It’s not really an easy task. But with God in our hearts, we can do any work joyfully..
    Thanks for sharing! This is a great inspiration to everyone..^^

Leave a Reply

