Home » Devotionals » Why Me, Lord?

Why Me, Lord?

by Florecelle Bachinella (35th Batch)

I didn’t expect that I will be sent here in Korea. When I started my missionary journey, I really said to myself that I will never ever go to this country. I would always tell God, “Don’t send me there Lord, please!” But God didn’t answer my prayers. He did send me here. And with this situation, Jonah’s life came to my mind. He didn’t want to go to Nineveh, but God sent him there through a big fish. When the campus called me, I cried. I asked God, “Why me, Lord? I will miss my family, my friends, my cats, everything. Just let me stay here in Laguna.” Being with them is all I wanted. But I remembered a passage in the Bible that encouraged me to go! Matthew 19: 29 says,`

“And everyone who has left houses or brothers or sisters or father or mother or wife or children or lands, for My name’s sake, shall receive a hundredfold, and inherit everlasting life.”

What a very wonderful message!

In my missionary life here, there are times when I feel discouraged, especially in teaching the children. I don’t understand them. And they don’t understand me, too. How would I communicate with them? There are lots of problems that are stressing me out. Also, I found out that some people would let you do things that you don’t even know, and they would let you do those things though your mind is already very tired. I guess most of us have experienced that, right? We may think that “Oh, in our place we don’t do this. We don’t like doing that.”

But we should never be discouraged. Remember, we are doing this in God’s name. Why us? Because we are His chosen people, special in His sight. And we must be glad for that. God will surely bless us more than we ever wanted. Maybe not now but later in our lives we would receive bountiful blessings, intended just for us. Let us always put this in our mind: being a missionary is the most wonderful thing you’ve ever done for the Lord. And surely, God is happy for you.

One thought on “Why Me, Lord?

  1. yes indeed its true. We should be grateful coz chose us and we are special in HIs sight! He knows our capabilities. And He is always there for us no matter…

Leave a Reply

