Home » Devotionals » Busy Working While Waiting

Busy Working While Waiting

by Jennifer Dupit (36th Batch)

Time passes quickly. It was just two or three months ago when I was dreaming about homecoming celebration. I was so excited to meet my co-missionaries and share with them my experiences on how God worked in us while doing His ministry in our mission field.

However, things didn’t go exactly as I imagined. Though I hesitated to leave my Korean partner alone and spend another year away from my family, I responded to the call and accepted the challenge to go to a foreign land as a missionary. Abraham’s obedience encouraged me to entrust everything to God. When he was called to go out into a place which he should after receive for an inheritance, OBEYED, and he went out, not knowing whither he went. (Hebrews 11:8)

The first time I stepped on this foreign land wasn’t a happy day for me. I had sleepless nights during my first and second weeks here in Korea. I spent the nights crying and thinking about going home. So I asked God to help me overcome my loneliness, and He did. God assured me that my family and dear friends are in good hands and there is nothing for me to worry about. It made me realize how less my faith in God is and how much time I’ve wasted worrying about things.

From that day on, I started to make myself busy doing my part as a teacher and focusing on my goal as a soul winner. I’m always asking God to create in me a grateful and cheerful heart each day. Many of my students are atheists, and most of them think that the Bible is just like a novel written by an ordinary author and that prayer is just like a song or words to memorize. They don’t even care whom they are talking to–they just pray in their most convenient way. I really want to teach them about Jesus. But how?

Since I am a registered teacher, the principal told me to focus on English subjects and not on the Bible anymore. At first, I thought that it would be impossible for me to share God’s word to children since I am now concentrating on English subjects just like the other foreign teachers. But then, I just decided to do my best that somehow I can send them a message of God’s love. So I started to post some Biblical quotes, memory verses and short encouraging messages about God’s love in my classroom. Maybe in that simple way I can share God’s love to my students.

” I would always remind my students that God is good all the time at the start and end of our classes.”

I would always remind my students that God is good all the time at the start and end of our classes. And they have to smile because JESUS loves them so much. I know many of my students are still longing and craving for love and affection, so I just ask God to use me to be a channel of blessing especially to their emotional and spiritual needs. I may not have been given the chance to tell them stories in the Bible but I can be a living word to them by doing little acts of kindness, understanding, and loving my students unconditionally. With constant prayer, I believe that God can make a great change in my students’ lives and in my life as well.

But as missionary teachers here in Korea, the students are not our only interests but also the people around us. They also need to know about God. In our case, we are trying to reach out to our foreign co-teachers. Some of them are atheists, so giving them bookmarks are one of our ways to share God’s love. Also, together with other Christian teachers, we go to their apartment and do a group Bible study once a week. With God’s working power, I do believe that nothing is impossible.

 Let’s keep on doing our best for the tasks that God has entrusted to us. Live as though every day were your last. Enjoy and love the missionary work while waiting for Jesus’ second coming. Waiting for God’s advent is extremely exciting when we keep ourselves busy and active in His work. Jesus admonishes us: “Occupy till I come” (Luke 19:13).

 God bless everyone!!!

Leave a Reply

