Home » Devotionals » Safe in His Arms

Safe in His Arms

by Jenelyn Balagot (35th Batch)

“He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.” Psalm 91:1

It never occurred to me that there would be pick-pockets, thieves, robbers and even burglars here in Gangwon-do. This is due to the fact that ever since I came, I had been enjoying a life of a well-observed peace and order. I also noticed that Koreans have the same behavior. They feel so secure to the point of simply leaving their stuff unattended. With this kind of atmosphere, I felt more and more secure. Yet even though I live in this kind of environment, I never ceased asking the Lord to keep me safe at all times since we’re still living in this sinful world.

Occupying a room all by myself on the third floor of my church’s building, I never fail to pray before going to my night’s rest. Though I’m alone, I had no worries. I sleep soundly every night. I have the feeling that God is always there, keeping me safe. And every morning, I would always unlock the door of the second floor as part of my routine duties.

But last June 14, when I went down to unlock the said door, something strange caught my attention. There were pieces of broken glass on the floor and the door was already wide open! I assumed that some church members might have come in and were renovating a part of the church but nobody was there. It was still early in the morning, too early for them to come and work. I then checked the possessions of my church and everything was in place. I went back upstairs to check the office. As soon as I entered the office, my heart beat faster and faster (tachycardia). It even grew worse when I discovered that the computer set was gone! Before I called my pastor to inform her of the incident, I sent a thanksgiving prayer to God for keeping me safe that night. I felt so blessed since the office and my bedroom are both on the third floor!

Indeed, if we dwell in the shelter of the Most High, the Lord will guard and rescue us in times of trouble. We just only have to put our trust in Him and surely we will always be safe in His arms.

One thought on “Safe in His Arms

  1. Pingback: Ask, And It Will Be Given You 073011 « Mennonite Preacher

Leave a Reply

