Home » Devotionals » He Answers Me When I Call

He Answers Me When I Call

by Ermy Opon (36th Batch)

This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us. And if we know that he hears us—whatever we ask—we know that we have what we asked of him.  1 John 5:14, 15

 Let me share my stories on how God answered me when I called on Him.

One afternoon I remembered that I needed to pay for our conference’s missionary T-shirt and so I decided to go to the bank. Being not familiar with my pin code yet, I looked it up somewhere in a book where I remembered writing it down. But to my dismay I couldn’t find it! I searched all my books but I still didn’t find it. At that moment, I felt nervous because I couldn’t lose something as important as my pin code. Then I remembered God and said in my heart that I must ask His help for He can help me. I knelt down and prayed. Then in just seconds it popped up in my mind that I have written it on my dictionary. How amazingly He has answered me!

Once when I was about to cook dinner, my stove wouldn’t function. Feeling frustrated and saddened after trying to make it work for about ten times, I stopped and asked God’s help. Can you guess what happened right after my prayer? Yes, my stove worked perfectly fine. How great is He for His instant answer!

” When we draw near to Him, He will draw near to us.”

My mother sent me an email, asking for prayers for my seven-month-old nephew who was brought to the hospital due to his low platelet level. As I read my mom’s message, I felt pity for the baby. Afterwards, I went inside the church and earnestly prayed while tears kept falling down my face. I passed the message to my friends to pray for my nephew. After nine days my nephew recovered and I believe this is because of the power of prayer. He is now enjoying his good health. I thank God and I also thank those who prayed for him.

God never hesitates to help us if we only seek Him. I am sure He is eagerly waiting for us to come to Him. That is how He shows His care and love for us. When we draw near to Him, He will draw near to us. Let us seek God at all times. He hears when we call upon Him. Let’s have a quality time with God.

Leave a Reply

