Home » Devotionals » Of Promises and Happiness

Of Promises and Happiness

by Miraflor Garabiles

 “So when you talk to God and vow to Him that you will do something, don’t delay in doing it, for God has no pleasure in fools. Keep your promise to Him. It is far better not to say you’ll do something than to say you will and then not do it.” Ecclesiastes 5:4, 5
 
God has been good to all His children. He is so good even though we are not. I am a sinner and I need Christ to transform my life. I have a lot of struggles and difficulties. His purification of His children is not always easy because of the sinful human nature. We are powerless and we can’t do anything without Him. We are sinners but by His guidance and love we have an assurance that He will make all things easy if we consider Him as our lifetime partner in every aspect of our lives. We should call and surrender our lives to God, the Almighty God who doesn’t know defeat.
 
There was a time in my class when my students didn’t behave nicely while praying. As their teacher, I never failed in telling them that they should respect God all the time and I would always explain to them how important prayer is. I’m trying to understand them because they are young and they are not aware of their actions.
 

“Teacher, I want to pray.”

 
There was a time when I asked them if they could promise to God to behave while praying. Some of my students raised their hands and promised to behave and respect God. But there were three cute little boys who didn’t raise their hands and I asked them why. One of them said, “Teacher, is it okay if it’s just a little promise?” That simple answer really touched my heart. That boy knew that it is hard for him to give a promise to God. He knew that making a promise to God is a very special act and he should not break it. His heart is not ready to make a promise because he fears that he can’t keep it. As time passed, I can see the work of the Holy Spirit in my little students’ lives. There were changes in them. Since then, if I would ask them to pray, that boy would volunteer saying, “Teacher, I want to pray.”
 
One day in my First Grade Bible class, I taught them the scripture song The Fruits of The Holy Spirit from Galatians 5:22, 23. While teaching, I could see the happiness that is from their hearts. One of my students told me, “Teacher, I’m so happy to know that song. I only heard it now.” I can see the radiant face of this little boy while he was proudly singing. The rest of the kids love it, too. At their young age, they were enlightened. I realized that they need someone to tell them how God has been so good to them. I love listening to their unselfish, hopeful, happy, and loving prayers.
 
Even though there are difficulties in dealing with my students, I’m learning from them. Someday I’ll become a mother and I think God is preparing me for that role by teaching me how to understand children and their needs. I’m so happy and thankful that God has allowed me to be a part of their lives.
 
God’s training ground for His children is so wonderful. I’m happy that I’m learning in His school and that He has been my teacher all this time. He is preparing us for a wonderful mission, a Godly work for all humanity.
One thought on “Of Promises and Happiness

  1. Pingback: God’s Eyes; | God's Grace, ftw.

Leave a Reply

