Home » Devotionals » Missionary: A Living Witness

Missionary: A Living Witness

by Benjiaflor Barbon (33rd Batch)

Let no one despise your youth, but be an example to the believers in word, in conduct, in love, in spirit, in faith, in purity. I Timothy 4:12 (NKJV)

Being assigned in a countryside area of South Korea and being given a good partner are God’s answers to my prayer.

God sent us here for a mission. I am the kind of person who loves to talk and listen to other people’s problems. I really want to visit and talk to the people around me and understand them. But how can I do it here? I just can’t understand them and they can’t understand me, either. And so, I just waited for the Lord to help and work within me.

Every moment, my prayer is that God will use me and send me to those whom I could be a witness to. In each of my classes, before I start my lesson, I teach my students Bible songs and I also teach them how to pray. I feel happy whenever I see them singing songs for Jesus. I let them memorize the songs. I integrate faith and learning in my classes. A few months after doing that, I was just surprised to hear from one of our brethren who said, “You know May, you are really an original and true SDA!”

“Really?” I replied. In my heart I am so glad to hear it. What made them say it?

People around us observe the things we do–the way we speak, the way we act, and everything about us. Ellen White said, “Our words and acts carry a powerful influence.” It’s not the way we look that matters but the way we carry ourselves in our daily Christian walk. What kind of person are we trying to portray?

Let us place ourselves in a right relationship with God. We are not striving for what the world would say about us, but our constant prayer should be, “Lord, how shall we please You? How shall we accomplish our mission in this world?”

We could win others to Christ even by not giving a series of Bible studies to them. We could still influence them by what and who we are in Christ.

Let us continue doing good–not to please people but to please God. Let’s not be influenced by the world but let’s be witnesses to the world instead.

God bless us all!

Leave a Reply

