Home » Devotionals » Press On

Press On

by Christine Joy Flores (34th Batch)

A few months ago, I have been into a controversial issue where blames were put on me. At that time, I felt so hopeless. I did not know what to do anymore. My mind was empty and I couldn’t think well. While I was facing this kind of situation, the thought of going home was my only resort to escape from it. I did not want to stay in this place any longer nor finish my task here. I was totally discouraged.

After crying myself to sleep one night, I was awakened by a thought God has sent me. I was really struggling at that time whether to follow His will or to follow my own. God told me not to give up. “Be strong and just keep going. Just press on and know that I am always with you, to help you stand every time you fall,” He said.

It took me a few weeks to decide about it. Facing my students and church members, pretending that nothing had happened was really a big struggle for me. Finally, God helped me to decide according to His will.

Life here on earth is like a race. We are the runners and God is our Coach. As we run this race, the Christian race, we may meet obstacles–big or small. These are the problems, fears, and worries that test how determined are we. They would sometimes bring us to the point of giving up. There are times when we fall and stumble along the way and feel too tired to continue. But God reminds us to just keep going. God tells us through Apostle Paul in Galatians 3:12-14, “…but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me…forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead. I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”

Let us keep going. Let us press on to finish this race. And upon reaching the finish line, there is the prize–the prize that lasts–awaiting us. And most especially, our Coach, our loving Father awaits us to give His most comforting hug and everlasting care.

Leave a Reply

