Home » Devotionals » Our Willingness as Shepherds

Our Willingness as Shepherds

by Lizanne Gay Salubre (33rd Batch)

I am the good shepherd: the good shepherd giveth his life for the sheep. I am the good shepherd, and know my sheep, and am known of mine. As the father knoweth me, even so know I the Father; and I lay down my life for the sheep.  John 10:11, 14-15

 As missionaries here in Korea, our students are our sheep. Are we that willing to sacrifice everything for our students, even our very own lives? I know the general answer is never. Most of the time, we are too impatient with our students. Even I myself have regular fights with my students.

 If we are going to rate ourselves from 1-10 as good shepherds, what grade can you give yourself? Are we that willing to sacrifice as Jesus? Or are we just too selfish to only think about ourselves, about what we want, rather than our students? Are we willing to sacrifice our prides and not get mad at them especially if they never ever respected or obeyed us? Don’t ask me because my personal answer is “I don’t know” and most of the time inside my class it is “never.”

 It is really, really hard to follow Christ’s steps and become a good shepherd to other people especially to our students here in Korea. But that is what our calling is all about. May we strive hard to become a shepherd who is willing to sacrifice not only for our students but also towards the people around us, especially those who need us the most.

I pray that we will be able to conquer the disease of selfishness that is controlling our individual hearts.

Leave a Reply

