Home » Devotionals » I Am Chosen

I Am Chosen

by Maria Eleofe Magtahas (36th Batch)

Upon coming here in Korea, I really didn’t have any idea what kind of life would I have as a missionary. What I only knew was that I will be a missionary teacher here.

With that description, I was expecting a classroom setting with a group of students. I thought it didn’t matter either one is assigned in a church or in a school as long as he/she must teach in the classroom.

But reality did not happen as what I have thought it would. In my case, being a missionary teacher turned out to be a tutor. I go to my students’ houses by bike.

At first, I was really devastated. I kept asking myself, “Why am I here, biking? Why did I choose this kind of life?” And I started comparing my life before while I was working in an office and now as a missionary teacher here. I was very sad and felt very tired of my work. But amidst of these, I still managed to come to God in prayer. I asked Him to help me discern the reasons why I am here.

Then, God led me to the book of John 14:16 “You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you to go and bear–fruit that will last. Then the Father will give you whatever you ask in my name.”

This made me realize that, “Oh, yes! I am one of the vessels chosen by God. A vessel that will be an instrument to carry my students to God’s feet.”

Now, I am enjoying my life as a Chosen Vessel. I enjoy biking, teaching, and playing with my students. I already learned to forget who I was before and learned to love who I am now. For as Ellen White says, “Whatever may have been past experiences, however discouraging your present if you will come to Jesus just as you are, weak, helpless, and despairing, our compassionate Savior will meet you a great way off. And will throw about you His arms of love and His robe of righteousness.” (The Mount of Blessings p.16)

God is always willing to embrace us with His unchanging love. Pray and have faith.

Leave a Reply

