Home » Devotionals » WEATHER…You Like It or Not

WEATHER…You Like It or Not

by Joanne Maghuyop (34th Batch)

Yes! Whether we like it or not, we are all going to experience hardships; we are all going to experience difficult times; we are all going to experience pain. When you focus on this negative side of life, you will fail. Before I came here (Korea), I heard somebody said, “Expect the worst.” And as what I expected, it was really the worst. The weather was really cold and most of the students were disobedient.

One of the biggest challenges for me was the weather. It was already cold when I arrived here. Suddenly I have to wear thick clothes. I couldn’t move properly. I couldn’t go out anywhere I want to. I was a little bit disappointed because they said that Korea is very beautiful, but when I looked around, it was not because most of the trees and plants were dying. I did not see beautiful flowers. And just like the weather, I felt very cold inside and out.

But thanks be to God because He did not create just one weather or season. As what the Bible says in Ecclesiastes 3:1 (KJV)

To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under heaven.

I believe in this verse. During spring, I found out that this is really true. I was surprised that most of the dead plants came back to life again. The trees started growing leaves. The flowers started blooming. I can see beauty all around–not only in the plants but also the people.

Just like the weather, hope sprang into my mind. I began to hope for a better future. I just let God control my life. Because I finally believed that He knows what is best for me. Now I expect for the best. I know that rain or shine, hot or cold, summer, spring, winter, autumn–whatever season may come in my life, as long as I’m with God and as long as He’s with me, everything will work out just fine according to His purpose.

One thought on “WEATHER…You Like It or Not

Leave a Reply

