Home » Devotionals » The Calm Assurance

The Calm Assurance

by Cherrie Mae E. Aguila (34th Batch)

But the angel answered and said to the women, “Do not be afraid, for I know that you seek Jesus who was crucified. He is not here; for He is risen, as He said. Come, see the place where the Lord lay.”  Matt. 28:5, 6 (NKJV)

For a couple of months, we used the song Because He Lives during our daily morning worship at my pastor’s home. It has always been a personal favorite, but now I find it more meaningful.

I used to worry about almost anything. A challenging task that is due in the next couple of weeks would bother me. An important event that involved me would cause some worry. Just thinking about the possibility of ruining something, straining relationships and messing up in the future would increase my anxiety level. I was a chronic worrier and it was depressing.

However, God used time, as He always does, to prove my perceptions wrong. And I am ever grateful that He opened my eyes to His perfect ability of being able to take care of the things in my future whether they be important, small, crucial or trivial. He has shown me His power that makes everything work for good. He gave me blessings that manifest His concern for my every want and need. He reminded me of His constant love through situations and people who I have met along life’s way.

For a long time, God has been teaching me not to worry over matters at hand or of those which are beyond my control. However, I haven’t completely learned the lesson until I came to serve here in Korea. As various situations unfolded during my stay here, I came to fully trust His divine care and providence.

We have a God who lives. He was in our past; He is in our present; and, He is going to be in our future. And because of this calm assurance, I now find it natural to let Him be In Charge. As the song implies, the fact that we serve a risen Savior is enough assurance that each of us could face uncertain days.

Because He lives, I can face tomorrow, Because He lives, all fear is gone; Because I know He holds the future, And life is worth the living,

Just because He lives!

2 thoughts on “The Calm Assurance

Leave a Reply

