Home » Devotionals » Give It All to Him

Give It All to Him

by Gene Taniongon (35th Batch)

Every Sabbath at my church, we have potluck for lunch. Every after lunch, I help the deaconesses in cleaning the kitchen. I wipe the tables and they wash the dishes. After lunch one Sabbath in spring, I was standing in front of the kitchen door looking for some messy tables to clean when one of the grandmothers shouted at me. Another grandmother waved her hand to the old lady who shouted and said something. I guessed she said, “Don’t shout at her.”

It hurts when someone shouts at you and you don’t even understand what he or she is saying. I wanted to cry but I didn’t want to embarrass myself in front of the brethren and the children who were still in the kitchen. So I sat at the back of the kitchen door holding my tears. All of a sudden, many things came to my mind–bad things like loneliness, sadness, and heartaches. I wanted to go home. I was mad.

I was in deep thought when my pastor’s wife asked me if I had finished my lunch. I said yes and stood up, got some plates from the tables and rushed out of the kitchen. I was on my way to my room when the tears I was holding back started to fall. In my room, I cried and cried. I talked to Jesus. I told Him everything that was inside my heart and my head. I told Him about my pains, my sadness and I even complained. I poured out everything to Him. After a long time of crying and talking to Him, I felt better. I fixed myself and joined the children in their study room.

 Sometimes in life, we think we are alone and nobody cares. We choose to face life’s tests by ourselves when we can have Someone to lean on. Someone we don’t see but is there Who sees us. We can always come to Him knowing that there will be a response. Let’s remember He is our Lord and Savior. He is in charge of you and me and looks out for you and me. Nothing can separate us from Him.

Sometimes it is hard to understand people. Your friends and other people may do you wrong and you can’t let go of the hurt feelings and anger for a long time. If you ask God to help you, He will gently put His hands in your life. He will help you to obey and you will let go of the hurt that controls your life.

The Bible also gives us a lot of comforting words. In Psalms 34:18, we can find that “The Lord is close to the broken hearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.” Jesus Christ offers in Matthew 11:28: “Come unto me, all you who are weary and burdened. and I will give you rest.” John 16:20 also says, “I tell you the truth you will weep and mourn while the world rejoices. You will grieve, but your grief will turn to joy.”

One thought on “Give It All to Him

  1. Pingback: Cracks in Our Pots « Thoughts from the Porch

Leave a Reply

