Home » Devotionals » Student Teacher

Student Teacher

by Jephone Alum (34th Batch)

 Pray without ceasing. – 1 Thessalonians 5:17

One of my many experiences here in South Korea was when a little child reminded me of a lesson, a wonderful lesson. This story happened one day when I forgot to pray. It was one very busy day for me and I really forgot to pray. When I woke up in the morning, I just got up from my bed and started doing my routines. I went to my class and started teaching the students without even praying. Then at noontime, my co-teacher and I served lunch to the students and after we were done serving their food, I just told them, “Okay, let’s eat.”

But one of my students, Jack, was amazed why we started eating without praying. During every lunch we pray, but at that time we completely forgot our mealtime prayer. And this kid told me, “Teacher pray. Jesus angry.”

I’ve seen in that incident that God is so good. He used a young child as an instrument to remind me that I was not able to pray that day. He reminded me that I need to pray. And also, I realized that it was not only me who can give lessons to my students, but my students could also become such incredible teachers to me.

Prayer is a very simple thing that you and I can do but it matters the most. Sometimes we are so busy of our daily activities, but we need to pray even how busy we are. We need to give Him thanks for our everyday blessings and the blessing of a new life each morning.

Unceasing PRAYER is the unbroken union of the soul with God, so that life from God flows into our life; and from our life, purity and holiness flow back to God. EGW, SC p. 98
One thought on “Student Teacher

  1. Pingback: Pray Without Ceasing | bummyla

Leave a Reply

