Home » Devotionals » Having the Right Attitude

Having the Right Attitude

by Melanie Manabe (27th Batch)

 My brethren, count it all joy when you fall into various trials. James 1:2 NKJV

 How do we react to disappointments? How do we react if we don’t get our own way? Do we easily get angry or we just look on the positive side? If there is anyone who understands hardship perfectly, it is Paul. Yet he maintained the right attitude.

Teaching is my profession, but I felt I’m not for it. As I looked at myself, I concluded that I don’t have that character that everyone possesses. But those things changed when I was assigned here in Taenung. As I compared my work schedule with the other missionaries’, my heart said, “It isn’t fair.” Why do we have lots of classes? Why do we need to do this and that and others don’t have to? “I’m tired of doing these things,” came a thought to my mind one day. But I learned a lesson that when we choose to respond in a positive way, we can do the task better and we will enjoy doing it as if it is a part of our mission here in Korea. We are here to serve and not to be served.

No matter how hard our work is, stop questioning and grumbling. And let’s stop feeling sorry for ourselves. It is hard but we need to try. Taking on a wrong attitude would cause us to become bitter. It can either get us down or not, depending on how we handle it. Let us always remember that God won’t let us down. All we need to do is seek God and allow His love into the situation.

Leave a Reply

