Home » Devotionals » Source of My Joy

Source of My Joy

by James Isaac B. Torres

When he saw the crowds, he had compassion on them, because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd.  Matthew 9:36

Working as a support staff in the Division office and as an assistant pastor has been so fun for me. But I didn’t know that doing it for more than 10 months or more would drain and suck the life out of me. Once, while I was preparing the church for the service, I reached a point where I just stopped and told myself, “Okay, this must be it!” I thought this is the point of no return, to just stop doing this and go home. I felt so tired of doing almost the same thing over and over again. So I decided that I would go home at the end of the year or before it ends.

But God was so gracious to open my eyes. While welcoming the church attendees as they come in, it struck me why I have been doing this service. God desires someone that would assist them to approach Him. I felt an overwhelming joy in my heart when I saw how happy the people were as they worshiped God in church. It became the source of my joy and strength. I praise God that He opened my eyes to see the worth of what I do in this ministry.

One thought on “Source of My Joy

Leave a Reply

