Home » Devotionals » Growing in God’s Glory

Growing in God’s Glory

by Kaila Jojaida Erot (34th Batch)

“But we all, with open face beholding as in a glass the glory of the lord, are changed in the same image from glory to glory, even as by the Spirit of the Lord.”  2 Corinthians 3 :18

Ever since, the term “missionary” has been a wonderful thought for me. But after becoming one, I realized that that wonderful thought is not always easy and all about fun.

I love wisdom that’s why I love gaining knowledge. And I also love sharing it. But the fact (that I have accepted long before) that I am not good in imparting it to others or to groups of people brought me the thought of declining the offer for Korea rationalizing, “I am a nurse, not a teacher.” I don’t have skills in teaching and it has never been my field of specialty. But I can’t also afford the thought of refusing my God. He has been faithful to me. And this is the simplest thing that I can do to show my gratitude and love for Him. Anyway, the fact that I have already accepted long before is not the fact that He has accepted–for nothing is impossible with Him. I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.

When He calls, He equips. But it doesn’t mean that when He calls me, and puts me in a certain place, everything will just go smoothly. No, definitely not. Hardships, problems and trials are always part of life. There would be times that I feel unproductive, ineffective and inefficient. I would sometimes lose my temper with my naughty and inattentive students. But these things are the spices of life that give savor to it. And they are the very things that mold, chisel and refine my character to fit in His service here and soon in heaven. And day by day, as I am learning the Lord’s ways on how to enjoy these spices and deal with these situations, I am also stepping one level higher in the ladder of my faith, growing in His grace from glory to glory.

And when dissatisfaction and doubt creeps in my soul, I always remind myself that I am created in His image, nurtured in His care, and sent to earth (Korea) to learn the noble heritage I bear–I am a daughter of a King.

It is not always easy and fun being a missionary, but it’s always fulfilling at the end of the race. So let us faithfully serve our faithful God, glorifying His name and perfecting our character that we may soon share His glory.

Leave a Reply

