Home » Devotionals » What Would Jesus Do?

What Would Jesus Do?

by Joyful Lazo (33rd Batch)

It was 12 o’clock noon. I was exhausted from my morning classes, hungry, stressed from personal problems, and more. I wanted to talk to God before having lunch, so I decided to go upstairs (church) and have a solemn time with God. While I was on my way to church, two students called me.

“Teacher! Teacher!”

“Yes?” I said.

“Uhmm, kunyang. Teacher, katchi?”

My mood at that time was far from pleasant and cheerful. I was obviously capable of snapping at anyone who would make me feel more irritable. If you were in my case, what would you do? How would you feel?

You may be irritated and try to say something like: “Students, teacher needs to do something today. I’ll be with you next time. Okay?”

But when we try to look at the Bible, Jesus’ response was different.

Matthew 14:13-14 says, “When Jesus heard what had happened, he withdrew by boat privately to a solitary place. Hearing of this, the crowds followed him on foot from the towns. 14 When Jesus landed and saw a large crowd, he had compassion on them and healed their sick.”

If we look back at this story, we would see the same situation that Jesus had. His predicament must be more terrible because He just learned that John the Baptist had died. But He never thought of Himself first. He attended to the people’s needs first rather than His.

Do we want to be like Jesus?
Let’s put others FIRST.

Leave a Reply

