Home » Devotionals » I’m Breaking the 10th Commandment

I’m Breaking the 10th Commandment

by Jeniflor Ramos (34th batch)

 “Incline my heart to Your testimonies, And not to covetousness. Turn away my eyes from looking at worthless things, And revive me in Your way.” Psalm 119:36-37

We always give importance and emphasize the fourth commandment since most Christians break and even reject the seventh day as the true and holy rest day of God. But the rest of the commandments that we seem to be obeying and following are sometimes taken for granted. However, the Scriptures remind us in Proverbs 7:2-3 to “keep my commands and live, And my law as the apple of your eye. Bind them on your fingers; Write them on the tablet of your heart” for as humans it is our nature to forget.

There is the continual tendency in almost all of us to be dissatisfied with what we have. People seem to want something better. Those who are swept away with the obsession to always want something better are in a trap. They are controlled by the lust–the exceeding of reasonable limits.

The 10th commandment goes beyond the acts of violence for it is designed to govern our thoughts. The 10th commandment is about contentment. God instructs us not to covet because He knows it can entrap us into even greater sin. To covet means to crave or desire, especially in excessive or improper ways, synonymous to the word envy.

At first I didn’t want to admit I’m sinning with covetousness, but with deeper understanding of the words covet or to envy, I came to realize that I’m trapped with this sin. In my daily dealings with temptations, I know I did not control my thoughts and thinking. I confess, every time I see nice clothes, nice shoes, bags and branded things worn by those people around me, my mind would have these thoughts: “I will buy the same thing or something better than that.” “I want to have those or these things!” or “I will surely have them soon.” And I realized, too, that covetousness diverted my mind from my main purpose of being here as a missionary–to NOT conform with the world but to make a difference. E.G. White wrote that the spirit of covetousness is the spirit of Satan. Oh! I was snared by this. Maybe I’m not breaking the other commandments but Satan diverted my mind to this.

Overcoming the sin of covetousness requires a renewal of my thoughts, the recognition of the vanity of human thoughts and the desire to acquire the thoughts of God.

Lord, I confess I’m breaking the 10th commandment. Please forgive me. I need to renew my mind. Please give me the strength and the divine power for I can’t do it by myself. Help me to be contented with what I have now. Thank You. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

One thought on “I’m Breaking the 10th Commandment

  1. Pingback: You Shall Not Covet Your Neighbor’s Wife, or His Male or Female Servant, His Ox or Donkey, or Anything That Belongs to Your Neighbor.” « Life of a Sinner

Leave a Reply

