Home » Devotionals » Trust in the Lord

Trust in the Lord

 
by Jeffrey Fernando
 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.” Proverbs 3:5, 6

 

In an overall sense, this proverb always speaks for my direction. However, there are those acute times when I desperately need the Lord’s specific direction and this verse becomes even more directive and meaningful in my life. Perhaps some of us today are dealing with the inconsistencies of life such as difficulty at work and troublesome classes. This verse is absolutely helpful.

This wonderful proverb has three commands followed by a promise:

1. Trust in the Lord with all your heart.

Trust requires faith, confidence, and assurance that God is working through any situation. One does not place his trust in the circumstances or in his own heart, but the object of his trust is “the Lord.”

In my mission field here in Donghae Sahmyook School, the school couldn’t provide text books for my classes. In others words, I have to use my creativity and so I always depend on the Internet for topics to be taught. Sometimes I run out of ideas on what lessons I am going to teach the next day. This Bible verse always reminds me to keep on trusting Him no matter what.

Are we to partially trust God and partially rely on our own abilities or wisdom? God wants us to trust Him with all our heart.

2. Lean not on your own understanding.

I consider the times when I thought I understood something, only to find out later that I was wrong. When I lean on my own understanding, I often get things wrong. I may start to worry, become  fearful or grow desperate, and then I would begin to make huge mistakes, wrong choices, etc. My understanding is always limited, often flawed, and could not give an accurate view of what is ahead.

3. In all your ways acknowledge Him.

In our thoughts, in our speech, and in our actions, others may see that God is the central figure of our lives. Smile and the world smiles with you. Simple acts like sharing a smile with the students can brighten their day. Through these we are sharing God’s love.

The promise in the text is, “He shall direct your paths.” Our responsibility is to obey His commands. When we do so, we are absolutely assured that God will direct our paths!

2 thoughts on “Trust in the Lord

  1. Pingback: WISDOM- PROVERBS 3 | Déborah N Kabwang

  2. Pingback: Don’t Think, Just Pray | Life of a Sinner

Leave a Reply

