Home » Devotionals » When You Never Give Up

When You Never Give Up

by Darlyn Mae Gupit (25th Batch)

 “Then Jesus told his disciples a parable to show them that they should pray and not give up.” Luke 18:1 (NIV)

A fifth grader once asked me for a present on Children’s Day. Before the 5th day of May, (Children’s Day in South Korea), she told me to prepare for her gift. But then, I told  her that couldn’t give her one this year because I wasn’t able to prepare and I was out of budget.

Two days after the Children’s Day, she claimed her present from me. I was taken aback for I thought she would not ask me about it again. Thinking she might have just probably forgotten what I said before, I told her the same reply.

Around the fifth time she bugged me for that present, my heart melted and I realized how confident she was that I would certainly give her what she asked for.

When I saw her again the next time we had our one-on-one class, I immediately handed her the much longed-for gift.

No wonder God wants us to pray and never give up! Blessings are on the way when we claim His promises and faint not.

Leave a Reply

