Home » Devotionals » Getting Involved

Getting Involved

by Jennifer Darling Dupit (36th Batch)

We should all be workers of God. No idlers are acknowledged as His servants. ~Ellen G. White, Christian Service

I’ve always thought that reading good books and listening to sermons would be enough for a person to be called a good Christian. My teaching experiences helped me realized the importance of active participation in the learning process. In a classroom setting, a student may learn from what he hears and sees, but will completely learn if he will be able to put these things into action.

I often tell myself not to take any responsibility like leading a group of people or participating in social and any other church activities. I just love to listen and follow what is being asked. But it leads me to idleness and dependence on others that I could hardly reach an average spiritual maturity. The more that I become inactive, the lesser the time I spend with God. If I keep on doing this, would I be able to meet my Lord’s expectations? Absolutely not! Jesus, as our Great Teacher, willingly gives us knowledge and wisdom on how to live our lives according to His will and He wants us to be actively involved in His work.

Though sometimes I feel unready to take part in God’s work and think that someone else can do a better job, God would always remind me that I am special and I can do special things for Him in my own special way.

Now I am giving my best for God to please Him and give Him back the glory. Despite my weaknesses, His wonderful promise keeps me stronger–But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 2 Corinthians 12:9

Spiritual excellence would surely be achieved through reading His word, listening to the Still small voice and actively doing His work. And as the Holy Spirit leads us, our skills, experiences and services offered to Him increases. God doesn’t ask for our ability but our availability. Once we submit ourselves to God, He will give us a willing heart to serve Him. We must learn to empty ourselves in order to be filled spiritually.

Let us always do something in order to deepen our spiritual condition, for what use is our knowledge and skills if we are not making use of it for our God’s glory? God expects personal service from everyone to whom He has entrusted a knowledge of the truth.

2 thoughts on “Getting Involved

  1. Amen for this My Darling… Praise God! now you just lift me up to serve more to our Almighty God! Let’s GET INVOLVE NOW… to the service of our God!

Leave a Reply

