Home » Devotionals » Always PUSH

Always PUSH

by Angecor Delgado (32nd Batch)

As for God, His way is perfect; The word of the Lord is proven; He is a shield to all who trust in Him. 2 Samuel 22:31 (NKJV)

Do you ever wish God spoke to you? In those days when the Lord did not speak directly to people very often, He chose to speak to a boy named Samuel, whose name means “I asked the Lord for Him” or God heard.

It was a humid and windy Sunday afternoon and I was pretty busy cleaning, washing my clothes, and preparing my sermon for our evening worship on Skype. I was at the office when our representative called to check if I was ready. When we finished talking on the phone, I felt that Someone was whispering to me. So I stood up and followed what the Still small voice wanted me to do. I was puzzled why, but It urged me to go directly to my room. When I peeped from my window, I saw an enormous fire at our neighbor’s stained glass window, and wondered where the huge fire came from. So I quickly ran to the kitchen to check if there was also fire inside our church. I found out that the fire started from our neighbor’s repair shop. There was a strong wind at that time and I was anxious should the gigantic fire reach our gas range and heater since it was just a short distance from the window. I was alone, I couldn’t ask for help since my pastor and his family were away. I didn’t know what to do. I couldn’t help but hold my Bible, kneel down and pray. Having decided to PUSH (Pray Until Something Happens), I asked God to save my life and the church, believing in His wonderful promise that He is a shield to all who trust in Him.

While I was praying, I heard the sound of a fire truck. My church members were shouting, calling out my name. They found me kneeling in front of the window, tapped my shoulder and we immediately ran to escape from the fire. We could still feel the blazing fire as we gathered outside and continued to pray. I called up our conference’s missionary representative to inform the other missionaries to also pray for us.

I am certain that the only real defense of a Christian in such a time as that is prayer. More prayer, more power. Finally, after four long hours, the fire ceased.

Basing on my experience, the Word of God is tested and proven.

4 thoughts on “Always PUSH

  1. What an experience! PUSH (Pray Until Something Happens) yeah,.. tested and proven. MORE PRAYER! MORE POWER!.. God Bless you…

  2. I was moved by this experience and while reading this I couldn’t help but have those what they called  “teary eyes.” It’s the pushing deeper that we can get to see the Father’s will and guidance. With this carnal heart of mine marvel at the amazing providence of the Father’s love and care to a world who doesn’t love Him!!! Angecor dear, I couldn’t thank you enough for sharing this wonderful experience with the Source of all deliverance… May the God we serve will continue to impress  you with experiences that will inspire and bless others as well!!! God bless and more power!!!

Leave a Reply

