Home » Devotionals » A-MAZE-ING Life

A-MAZE-ING Life

by Joanne Maghuyop (34th Batch)

As a missionary and as a teacher, I try my best to reach out to my students. That is why sometimes I would let them play games. We would often play maze, but one time I noticed that they were not so interested with it anymore. Some of them complained that it was too easy. So one day, I decided to search for the most difficult maze available on the Internet.

At first they were excited and were focused, but after a few minutes most of them complained and all of them gave up later on. Actually, I also did not know the right direction. I felt sorry because at that time I was not able to give them the answer.

After the class I realized that I’m their teacher. How can I teach them if I myself don’t even know the answer? And so I decided to solve it.

I thought it was very easy, but minutes later I felt like giving up. However, the thought came back again: “How can I teach them if I myself don’t know?”

My mind says I don’t want to do it anymore but somehow I need to. So I prayed to God to show me the right direction. Then suddenly I got the idea! I was able to make strategies and eventually finished the maze.

That experience have made me realize that life is like a maze. In our lives we have a lot of decisions to make–choices that would either lead us to the right way or the wrong one. Decisions are like the roads on the maze game. Some of them are made to confuse us, some of them will waste our time and most of them will lead us to the wrong direction. If we are not patient and focused enough, we will never be successful.

Another parallel is that we all make mistakes; we all experience failure. It is very easy to give up and feel discouraged. But we should not because our heavenly Father is watching us. He is always ready and willing to help us. In fact, He is the Creator of our aMAZEing life. The good news is that He has already provided the way as what He says in John 14:6,

“I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.”

One thought on “A-MAZE-ING Life

  1. AMEN!!! Praise God for this wonderful revelation of the path that will help us find the way to this so called “aMAZEing” life. We will never, indeed, get lost if we will but follow the path that He already provide for us. But our choice taught us great lessons to never trust our own decisions. Always ask wisdom from above and He will never fail to provide what is enough for today. May the Comforter causes you to always look for His guidance daily as you continue in the path of this aMAZEing life and reflects His glory every time you won a victory!!!

Leave a Reply

