Home » Devotionals » Building Relationships

Building Relationships

by Peter Joseph Patricio (36th Batch)

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot on how to get closer to people around me especially to my students. I have to say building a relationship with them is one of my concerns these past few days since I will be serving for another year. It is quite hard to adjust when you are already used to being reserved and alone, and you only have the chance to show the real you when you are around with people close to you.

Most of the time, I need to give my “best” to meet my students’ satisfaction, yet I still end up unappreciated (maybe I am seeking for their affirmation or its opposite). It is tough when you have already given everything and still you think it was not enough.

I started to get tired in initiating because it is always ‘I’ since day one. In my case, I have no choice but to be the one to adjust to and learn about them.

This had left me staring blankly at an empty space where my id, ego and super-ego started to have their conversation. “What’s wrong, why can’t I have a good relationship with my students,” id said.

“There is nothing wrong with you; you are just fine!” super-ego replied.

Then my ego reminded both id and super-ego, “Remember, you cannot please everybody.”

Then one day, I came across a quote on Facebook. To paraphrase: “If you want to have a good relationship with man, have a better relationship with God.”

This quote struck and enlightened me. I started to search online for “Ways to have a better relationship with God” and the Internet gave me several answers.

I picked five things that I can possibly put into action. I made a mind sticker to aid my short term memory–[ReTalk, Fast, and Stay away with RSM]. These are the five steps I’ve made to develop my relationship with God:

1. Read and study the Bible. The Bible is more valuable than any other book you can find in any bookstore–it priceless! “It is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness” (2 Timothy 3:16).

2. Talk to Him in prayer. God loves to hear our prayers and loves to answer them. He expects us to stay connected with Him by reading the Bible and talking to Him in prayer.

3. Fasting. Spiritual fasting also helps us draw near to God. Aside from spiritual awareness, it has also good effects on our body. It purifies, rejuvenates, revitalizes, and provides rest for our digestive organs. It is essential for detoxification; it improves our senses, hearing, taste; and, it aids in weight loss.

4. Stay away from bad influences and material things. 1 Corinthians 15:33 says, “Evil company corrupts good habits.” God is displeased to see us choose evil over good or what will lead us to choose evil. Material things can possibly make our lives busy and would hinder us to have a healthy relationship with others and especially with God. It can choke to death our spiritual self.

5. The ultimate, most powerful way to stay close to God is to Repent and be Spiritually Minded by accepting God’s gift–His spirit to dwell in one’s heart and mind.

Our relationship with God must be our most important priority than any other relationships. In every situation that we come together with students, friends, significant others, and people around us, we are to do so in Jesus’ name. Matthew 18:20 says,

“For where two or three are gathered together in My name, I am there in the middle of them.”

It is essential in every relationship to have the purpose of glorifying God. Jesus must always be in the middle. In every relationship, there are good question to ask ourselves: Does this relationship bring me closer to Jesus? Or does this relationship bring the other person closer to Him?

One thought on “Building Relationships

  1. AMEN!!! Praise God for this Pej dear!!! I’ve been here in this path and I thank God for allowing me experience it. Because only in a relationship with Him where I can find true and genuine happiness, peace and love that I’ve longed for all throughout my existence!!! And now that i was given a chance to have a closer relationship with Him. It’s my hearts daily desire to know Him deeper everyday of my blessed existence… May our Father, Savior and Friend guide you always in the path that leads to full contentment, happiness and love!!!

Leave a Reply

