Home » Devotionals » Don’t Cry

Don’t Cry

by Lady-ne Barrientos

“So be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid and do not panic before them. For the Lord your God will personally go ahead of you. He will neither fail you nor abandon you.” Deuteronomy 31:6

“Trials, hardships, and difficulties? I have enough strength to endure them,” I said to myself before coming here in Korea.

During my first three months in my mission field, everything was endurable until one day, one of my middle school students named Johnny, said something that really got me so badly.

He said, “Teacher, go back to the Philippines. I don’t want to see you anymore. I don’t like you!” Instead of getting angry, I just smiled and continued discussing our lesson.

But he kept on annoying me so I asked him, “Do you really want me to go home?”

“Absolutely!” he replied.

So I got my bag and hurriedly opened the door . Unexpectedly when I was about to open the door, he held my hand and begged me to stay. I didn’t want to cry but the tears just fell down my cheeks and my heartbeat went a little slower than usual. That very moment , I asked myself, “Where is my strength?” I felt like quitting.

When he noticed that I was crying, he sat beside me and said, “Teacher, I beg you to forgive me. I didn’t mean to hurt you. I just wanted to know how strong you are. I know you’re here in Korea not just to teach but to serve God. Am I right, teacher?”

“Yes,” I replied.

Then he said, “So don’t cry. God doesn’t want to see you cry. He wants you to be strong everyday. Do not be weak. Be courageous.”

While listening to him, I was amazed and I felt relieved. After thanking him, I immediately went to my prayer room, kneeled down and prayed to God.

My student was right. Let us be courageous everyday. Sometimes, when we feel like quitting, let us remember that it’s just a test. If we just cling to God and submit everything to Him, He will give us the strength to endure.

And let us remember this: God doesn’t want to see you cry.

2 thoughts on “Don’t Cry

  1. Be strong and courageous jud ta! Thank you for sharing this wonderful experience sister..
    Let us not become weary in doing good..so that one day we may say..” I have fought a good fight, I have finished the race..” Fighting everyone!^^

Leave a Reply

