Home » Devotionals » Hugs and Kisses

Hugs and Kisses

by Bambie Taniongon

But as touching brotherly love ye need not that I write into you: for ye yourselves are taught of God to love one another. 1 Thessalonians 4:9

“Are you Ready?” I’d say in a loud voice, “Yes, we are!” is the answer of my very cute, alive, alert and enthusiastic kindergarten kids. I meet them four days a week and to be honest, I didn’t like them at first.They were like the cartoon characters, Tom and Jerry. They’d run here and run there; shout here and shout there; fight here and fight there. They were very annoying!

There was this particular 4-year-old boy in the class. He was the most aggressive among all the others. He would influence others to run around with him. He was the master of bullying and fighting. I tried to come to him before our classes started, but he would run away.

Even so, if I got the chance, I would still cuddle him, hug him and do just any possible thing I could to gentle him down. I would sometimes rebuke him saying “Changnan hadjima! (Don’t be naughty!). Then he would say, “ Yes!” Sometimes, those two korean words are effective, and sometimes they’re not. After the class, I would try to be so gentle and sweet with him again.

The class term finally ended. He is now 5 years old. And again, I am his room teacher. His hyperactivity isn’t gone but every time he comes to our class, he runs to me and hugs me, and I cuddle him and kiss him. I always remind him not to be naughty anymore.

I recently noticed that more and more children would come to me and hug me; they want to be hugged as well. These little sweet gestures make me feel closely connected to them the way I really want to.

I receive a lot of hugs from them everyday as I give them mine with a kiss. I want to make them feel loved. I want to be a channel of God’s love to them because heaven will be more beautiful when I see them there.

Matthew 19:14 “But Jesus said, Suffer little children, and forbid them not, to come unto me: for of such is the kingdom of heaven. “

Leave a Reply

