Home » Devotionals » Patience: A Gift from the Holy Spirit

Patience: A Gift from the Holy Spirit

By: Dulce Amor Pielago

“I therefore, a prisoner for the Lord, urge you to walk in a manner worthy of the calling to which you have been called, with all humility and gentleness, with patience, bearing with one another in love, eager to maintain the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace.”

Ephesians 4:1-3

Image

There are 24 adorable 6-year-old kids in one of my classes. I don’t want to sound unfair but out of that number, there are really those kids that you just want to cuddle most of the time. And to be more specific, there are these two kids, a boy and a girl, who are especially liked by everybody, including me. This little cute girl, even if she just sits quietly at the corner, everybody seems to notice her easily.

This boy is the clear opposite. His name’s Ryan. He’s naughty but not the bully type. He just can’t pay attention in class; he’s everywhere in the classroom. But he’s a sweet boy.

Ryan used to sit on my lap, play with my hair–smelling and touching it. He also liked biting my fingers softly. “Painful Teacher?” he would ask. Sometimes I would tell him, “a little painful.” Then he’d smile at me and stop biting.

Later on, his bites were getting more and more painful. And his used-to-be gentle and playful touch of my hair had become painful as he would sometimes pull my hair hard and remove my hair clips or anything that was on it. I started to get irritated at him that every time he came to me, I walked away.

One day, as I was about to start my class, he came near me. He attempted to pull my hair again but before he could do it, I took hold of his arm to stop him, but he started kicking me. Both of us wrestled in front as I was trying to get rid of him.Then I said, “I’m already very angry Ryan, sit down!” I was in the brink of saying the three-word sentence a missionary should never say when he smiled at me and said, “I’m happy, Teacher,” and ran away.
That moment, I just absorbed everything, released the bad feelings through a deep sigh and got ready for my class. 
Every day, I earnestly pray to God to extend my patience. Gradually, I can feel that the Holy Spirit is working in me. 
Ryan still does it almost every day but I no longer respond to his action the way I did. Yes, we still wrestle sometimes but it’s more fun now than it was before.

Leave a Reply

