Home » Devotionals » Even When You Sleep

Even When You Sleep

By: Eselmae Hilongo

But the Lord is faithful, and he will strengthen you and

protect you from the evil one.  2 Thessalonians 3:3

Image

It was a freezing cold night. I was really tired that time and so as soon as I slumped on the bed, my eyes just closed and brought me to the dreamland. I was laying on my back with the Bible beside me. In the middle of my sleep, I got a very strange spooky feeling that I wasn’t alone in my room. Then I saw a shadow of a man standing beside my bed. I wanted to scream in fear but I couldn’t find my voice. The man leaned forward and I just felt his hand on my neck strangling me. I tried to fight back. I held his arm and pushed it away with all my might but he was too strong. My strength was waning and thought it was the end. Then I thought about God. I cried for His loving mercy–a miracle to pour on me in that very desperate situation. “Lord please, help me! Do not let me die just like this. Please, Lord have mercy on me. Save me!” And right away I gained back my strength and said, “My God is powerful and stronger than you are! I won’t allow you to win over this and I’m not afraid of you!” Then I remembered my Bible. And the moment I took hold of it, a fountain of relief swept over me for it was then that my eyes were opened and realized that it was just a horrible nightmare. With teary eyes, I immediately got on my knees and talked to God with a heart full of gratitude. 

Life at times can be really surprising. While some surprises are surprising in a good way, some are not. Sometimes, life runs so smoothly like a sound and peaceful sleep until it bumps on to something you thought wasn’t there. It could just be a dream, but often times, it is as real as the air we breathe. Whether it’s a horrible nightmare or an unfavorably surprising reality, we should always turn to God to rescue us because as we know, He watches over us from the moment we open our eyes until we shut them.

2 thoughts on “Even When You Sleep

Leave a Reply

