Home » Devotionals » Teaching and Learning

Teaching and Learning

By: Jane Lo  Samilo

Get wisdom! Get understanding!Do not forget, nor turn away from the words of my mouth.Do not forsake her, and she will preserve you;Love her, and she will keep you.” Proverbs 4:5-6

ImagePatience is one of the characters that I have learned as a missionary here in Korea. I don’t like children especially the naughty ones. However, I have come to know and love them all as time passed by. I have noticed that the kids are becoming more courteous each day!
It was one Sabbath morning; I was all by myself handling the children’s Sabbath School program. The kids were so active that it was so hard for them to pay attention even for a very short period of time. I was so upset by their behavior but I kept extending my patience. I didn’t want to get mad, but they were like bears with sore heads. I was quiet for a time. I stared at them with total silence! Some of the kids noticed that I was quiet and upset that they began to say, “Teacher, story!” But I ignored them and walked hastily out of the room. I went straight to my room upstairs and shut the door. The kids chased me up there. After a while, I heard a knock on my door. I tried to ignore them; however, they decided to open the door without my approval. 
They all came closer to me; one by one they gave me a hug and said, “I’m sorry, Teacher!” My heart melted right at that moment. I was so touched and couldn’t believe with what they did.
The incident paved a way for these kids to get better and I’m just grateful to God that it happened.
Jesus was certainly true when He said that unless you turn and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.
We must aim for a humble heart to accept that we can commit mistakes. Moreover, let us ask God’s power to help us to be teachable and dependent to our great and patient teacher, Jesus Christ.
2 thoughts on “Teaching and Learning

Leave a Reply

