Home » Devotionals » Ripple of KINDNESS

Ripple of KINDNESS

By: Journette Dando

Giving all diligence, add to your faith virtue; and to virtue knowledge; and to knowledge temperance; and to temperance patience; and to patience godliness; and to godliness brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness charity. For if these things be in you, and abound, they make you that ye shall neither be barren nor unfruitful in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. 2 Peter 1: 5-8

???????????????????????????????

One early Sunday morning when I just jumped out of my bed, I looked out of the window to feel the cool breeze, and see how beautiful the day was going to start. I saw this young boy and an early teen girl sitting on the seesaw in front of our school trampoline. They seemed to be enjoying their early morning bonding. Suddenly, the boy was heading to the chained entrance of the trampoline looking around suspiciously. This time, he tried to open the gate forcefully just to get inside. To my amazement, I observed how he inserted his body into a small hole and got stuck. Since he’s a little bit bigger, he struggled to make it through. So, I hurriedly grabbed the key to open it. While I was on my way, he was startled with fear on his face.

I know that they were stunned and terrified because outsiders are not allowed to use it, that’s why it was locked. So I smiled and told them, “I am going to open it for you to play.”  The boy was very thankful with a big smile on his face that even after I opened it, he jumped into the trampoline as high as he could screaming, “Thank you teacher…” Those words echoed and played over and over in my ears while I was going back to my room.

It was really a wonderful morning to start my day with, knowing how a simple act of kindness can bring so much joy and happiness on the children’s faces. The following day, I was surprised that they were in my first class. They told me that they stopped to have their English tutorial at home and wanted to become our students.

I then realized that every act of unselfish kindness is always an expression of the love of Christ. And if you do these things to others, the happiness you impart will bring joy and peace to your own heart, and you will be transformed, and that doing all these things will become a part of your every being. As a missionary, we are not only to be a part of His work, but we also have to strive to become a blessing to those people around us, because through us, they can witness the Christ-like character.

Matthew 5:16 – In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

Sometimes we might not notice how our single action can make a difference. We should always remember that a kind and compassionate act will always create a ripple into people’s lives. Every single day is a precious opportunity to bring good feelings to the hearts of others. 

Leave a Reply

