Home » Devotionals » When God Employs His Angels

When God Employs His Angels

By: Janet Balagot

Behold, I send an angel before thee, to keep thee by the way, and to bring thee into the place which I have prepared.” Exodus 23:20

Image

“Is everybody all right?” I asked them after a startling lightning struck the house where we were staying.

May, 2012, we were conducting a Vacation Bible School in my mission field in the Philippines when an unforgettable incident happened.

I called the youth to help me prepare for the crowns, certificates, ribbons and decoration for the VBS Graduation. The youth, with my Korean partner Pyun Ji Yeong, put our effort together to make the program remarkable and memorable for the kids who joined and learned about Jesus and their parents who allowed them to come for 10 days.

It was 2:00 in the afternoon when the youth arrived in our house. The house was made of wood with a concrete floor. Connected to the house was a spacious veranda supported by three wooden posts. We were all in the veranda. I put all the necessary materials on a long table. We sat around the table and started to make the necessary stuff for the event. We were all 8. I was sitting at the side of the table between two young ladies and behind me was a wood post. We were having fun preparing and talking.

At 3:00 p.m., clouds filled the sky and heavy rain started to pour. I didn’t know why, but I had a strange feeling as if something was pushing me to stand up and telling me to move from where I was sitting. Why should I? I felt comfortable sitting there because I could see them all and the materials were very accessible to my reach. However, I heeded my premonition and stood up and moved to the corner of the table. The moment I sat down, a flash of a very bright light appeared in front of me. We screamed. Then a burnt smell permeated the house. We looked at each other. “Is everybody alright?” I asked. I checked each one and the two young ladies who were sitting beside me before I moved to the corner said that they felt an electric current through their feet. We were all trembling with fear. A trace of lightning was found under the table. It passed between the two young ladies to the wood post. That was exactly the spot where I was sitting.

I was shocked and I couldn’t help myself to shed a tear and whispered “O, thank you God.” After that circumstance, I understood why. I can’t imagine how I would be if I ignored that strange feeling. God sent an angel to tell me that I was in danger. An angel pushed me to move away from where I was sitting. As He promised in Psalm 91:11 “For he will command his angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways” (NIV).

God employs his angels to watch over us every time. I am also thankful that the two ladies were not seriously hurt and they were fine after a few minutes. After that stunning incident, we offered a prayer thanking God for His protection. I will never forget that experience because it was one of the times that I really felt an angel spreading its wings to save me from danger.

With the grace of God we were able to finish our Vacation Bible School successfully with almost 100 kids. I praise God because He intervened in unexpected situations.

 

 

Leave a Reply

