Home » Devotionals » Convicted to Help

Convicted to Help

By: Bebeleth Parennas

Even as I please all men in all things, not seeking mine own profit, but the profit of many, that they may be saved. (v.31) whether therefore ye eat, or drink, or whatsoever ye do, do all to the glory of God.” 1 Corinthians 10:33, 31(KJV)

Image

“Lord, please bless those people who show eagerness in doing thy work. And bless also those who have the heart to help for the furtherance of thy Ministry.” This was my prayer before I took a nap one day. I was so sleepy and I wasn’t feeling very well that time. I lay down on my bed with peace of mind, trying to close my eyes. Few minutes passed, I heard a voice whispering into my ears saying, “get up.” I tried to ignore it because of my sleepiness. But as I kept on ignoring it, there was something in my mind that I couldn’t explain, so I got up and knelt; I prayed again. At that time I told God to give me strength, asking Him to take out the sleepiness I was feeling. Then something came to my mind that gave me physical strength.

I changed my clothes and went to the place where I’d usually do my exercise. A started to walk. There were no people except me. Until I saw some dogs coming towards me. When I turned around, I saw an “Ajuma” (Korean term for a married woman). I greeted and smiled at her. She smiled back. I asked her if she exercised there every day. “Sometimes,” she answered. She told me that she wanted to walk the dogs and the weather was good that day so she was there. She gazed at me which made me feel conscious and uncomfortable. Then she asked, “Are you American?” I smiled and started to introduce myself. When I told her that I came here as a missionary, she started to talk a lot. Then I asked her in korean, “Do you know God?” She answered, “Yes.” And so I tried to share to her what I could by using some of the basic terms that I knew, but I ended up gazing at her mouth trying to catch the words that she was saying. As she kept on talking. I heard the word “Mideum” which means “Belief or faith.” “I believe in Jesus, in fact I have a church,” she said. Right then I felt that my skin became tighter which I couldn’t explain. I found myself in silence, but as she kept on talking, I got the courage to invite her to our Church with which she answered “yes”. “Our God is the same; We believe in Him even if we cannot see Him,” she added.

I felt so happy and blessed that time. We continued to talk and it was so amazing how God enabled me to speak “hangukmal” (Korean language). I patiently answered her questions and shared more of our beliefs. Then she asked me, “If I rent an apartment in the Philippines, how much would be the cost?” As I was explaining, she took 20,000 won from her pocket and put it on my hand. I used it as material for my explanation. When I felt like everything was clear already, I returned the money to her. But she grabbed my arm and put the money back to my hand and took another 10,000 and gave it to me. I tried to refuse but she said that she really wanted to give it to me. Then she put her finger on her lips telling me to be quiet.

What had transpired that day left me in awe and wonder. Then I remembered the one who asked me some help for their crusade and how I prayed to help for the other mission, too. I wanted to cry because of happiness and how God answered my prayers. I raised my head and looked above and whispered a prayer of thankfulness to God.

After that, we separated from each other but she called me again and gave me a pair of training clothes. With heart filled with joy, I gazed up on heaven again telling God to bless her for her kindness and conviction to help. “As we associate together, we may be a blessing to one another. “ The desire of Ages p.83.6

Matthew 6:33 “ But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.”

One thought on “Convicted to Help

Leave a Reply

