Home » Devotionals » Waiting

Waiting

By: Maria Eleofe Melgar Magtahas

Blessed are those who listen to me,watching daily at my doors,waiting at my doorway. For those who find me find life and receive favor from the Lord.Proverbs 8:34-35

Image

Life is full of waiting, isn’t it? All of us have our own reactions when we are asked to wait–reactions that would encourage or discourage others.

One day, I had to go to my students’ house for our class. I hurriedly walked to get to their house because the weather was so hot. When I arrived, the kids were sleeping. At first I was a bit happy because I thought I wouldn’t have class with them. But their mom asked me to go back to my place and be back after 20 minutes. I pretended not to understand what she was saying because I didn’t want to wait. So she called my Samonim (Pastor’s wife). She asked if I could wait for 20 minutes or go home and come back to their house in the evening. When Samonim told me about it, I was devastated. I was thinking how inconsiderate she was. Didn’t she see that despite the hot weather I really came to their house just to have class with her kids? And now, she wanted me to wait? And in the first place, our schedule must be followed. If her kids are sleeping and she doesn’t want to wake them up, she should just cancel our class for that day. I had lots of complaints but of course I didn’t show it. Instead, I told my students’ mother that I would just wait. So I waited for 20 minutes. While waiting I was thinking about my reaction. I was sure God knew what I felt and the complaints I had in my mind.

Then a thought hit me: How would Jesus react if He were asked to wait? Would He think the same as I thought? Would He also complain?

Then I realized how long has God been waiting for His children to come to Him in repentance. Jesus is still in the most holy place waiting for us to be fully changed. If He would complain and if He is too tired to wait, many of us won’t be saved. He willingly waits for His people for them not to perish. He has been so patient in waiting for us to become pure and holy worthy to be in heaven. Proverbs 8:34-35 says “Blessed are those who listen to me, watching daily at my doors, waiting at my doorway. For those who find me find life and receive favor from the Lord.” As it turned out, I was so blessed to have waited for my students that time for it helped me build a good relationship with them, and so with their parents. My God is always awesome.

Leave a Reply

