Home » Devotionals » “Lord, Please Do Something”

“Lord, Please Do Something”

Call unto Me and I will answer thee and show thee great and mighty things which thou knowest not.”  Jeremiah 33:3:(KJV).

 

486021_506125476106286_1349502009_n

  •   How would you feel when everybody in the class misbehaves or competes to be the best runner, or shouts as hard as he/she can? Our answers may vary according to our temperaments. We may have mixed feelings: angry, sad, discouraged, bored, tired, etc. which may lead us to think of another strategy on how to stop them.

    The hardest part of being a teacher is handling students in different levels. Should I be angry at them, or, should I strictly impose policies for them to follow? Sometimes it’s really hard to maintain our ROLE as English teacher and our IDENTITY as Missionary.

    One of my students, a five-year old boy, is the best runner in my class; he never gets tired. One day, when I was about to start the class, I told them to go to their proper places and be ready for the prayer. That boy went to his usual seat and prayed together with his classmates.

    It happened that our lesson was about animals. I asked them one by one what animals they liked most. “Tommy, do you like horses?” I asked. He said, “Yes, I do,” and he started running around the classroom. I told him to stop but he didn’t listen to me. So I asked him again. “Are you a horse?” With full enthusiasm he answered, “Yes, teacher! I am a horse!” So everyone in the class laughed at him. Then, he stopped for a while, stepped on the table and jumped on my shoulders. What a naughty kid! He made me a horse.

    I prayed hard to God that the next time we’d meet they would become good and obedient. Little by little they changed. Truly, I can’t do anything by my own strategy. I need God’s power and strength the moment I feel weak, tired or whenever negative emotions creep in. Every time I pray to my Invisible Partner, I always say, “Lord, please do something for me that I could survive; that I would be patient enough in dealing with my students.” Every time my students misbehave in class, I just bow my head and silently talk to God: “It’s Your turn, Lord! Please do something for them!” And He never fails to hear me. Here’s a powerful Bible verse known as “telephone” verse found in Jeremiah 33:3: “Call unto Me and I will answer thee and show thee great and mighty things which thou knowest not.” (KJV).

    It’s God’s presence that enables me to handle things. And I truly believe that He’s just a prayer away.

Leave a Reply

