Home » Devotionals » Ordinary People

Ordinary People

Ah Sovereign Lord, I said,I do not know how to speak…. verse: 7 The Lord said, you must go to everyone I send you and say whatever I command you. verse: 8 Do not be afraid of them,for I am with you. verse: 9 Then the Lord reached out His hand and touched my mouth. Now,I have put my words in your mouth.” Jeremiah 1:6-9 (NIV)

945118_569050996451497_1179653884_n

As a simple individual, I know my limitations and capacity. I can’t speak clearly. Sometimes I stutter and sometimes I speak too fast with an intonation that sounds as if I’m angry.

When I knew that I had to teach in a community center, I was afraid. I said to God, “Lord, you know me. I stammer. I have pronunciation problems. Please help me, Lord. I don’t like to put your name to shame, so please dear God, put your words into my mouth as I teach them. Please cover me with your glory, oh God.”

On my first day, I couldn’t understand my feelings. I was with a korean to guide me going to the center but we lost our way so we arrived 10 minutes late. The students were waiting. They were ready for the class. Standing in front of the class, I smiled and said “Hello! How are you today?” They responded enthusiastically. I then introduced myself and I let them introduce themselves as well.

After our class, one student accompanied me to the office. While walking, she told me, “Teacher, you speak clearly and pronounce words well.” “Really? Thank you,” I said. I was amazed by what she said.

I’ve been hearing the same comment as I continue teaching them and I praise GOD for using an ordinary person like me to show His faithfulness.

The LORD covers me while doing the ministry. He hides my weakness. He shows His strength. He puts His words into my mouth. I’m never afraid cause JESUS is with me.

Leave a comment