Home » Devotionals » A Love like Christ’s

A Love like Christ’s

By: Darlyn Mae Gupit

Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails.” 1 Corinthians 13:4-8 (NKJV)

199315_5654461286_499_n

It was  in 2005 when I chose to run away from the place where all my hopes of becoming the bride of the man of my dreams had been shattered into pieces. My journey had been very tiring, having no sense of direction.

About six long and exhausting years of searching for something that could fill up the emptiness within was in vain. I spent most of my time on movies and dramas and would rather go to school the following day without sleep as long as I could finish watching them. I didn’t like the company of my fellow missionaries because I felt so terribly different. I enjoyed accumulating things that I thought would define my worth and importance which led to unimaginable debts. All my relationships were a mess whether with my students, church members, family, friends and fellow missionaries. And the worst part was, I thought everything was fine because I was still praying, reading my Bible once in a while, joining church activities and attending missionary programs. Until my Lover, Savior, Father and Best Friend came to rescue  me, a sinner.

March of 2011 marks the turning point of my life when I chose to allow Jesus Christ to take my heart, crush it and reshape it for His glory. It was then that my eyes were opened to the greatest need of my existence–His love–a love that covers a multitude of sins and gives absolute assurance of complete healing through unexplainable painful situations my finite mind could possibly bear.

The Potter is not yet finished with the remolding process but one thing is certain–the hand that is holding the clay were wounded because of His great love for me.

Leave a comment