Home » Devotionals » An Episode with the Great Provider

An Episode with the Great Provider

by Eljevar Marcia

 Each man should give what he has decided in his heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.  2 Corinthians 9:7

Last January, a widow-grandmother church member came to share her life with me for about two weeks. She has five children but each one abandoned her. She found shelter in our church but was not treated with kindness since she hates taking shower and changing her favorite clothes. During her stay, we shared meager supplies available. Both of us had tried to figure out what we wanted to tell each other. Her presence gave me a warm winter.

When the government personnel finally helped her get back to one of her sons after a long process, she gave me a beautiful smile and a tight warm hug.

Throughout the time we shared meals, despite the limited financial resources and food scarcity, I never went dry. A few months later, I was amazed to reap the fruits of what was sown. I had planned to buy a wrist watch and had already picked the kind I liked but I was given one for free–a costly fancy wristwatch instead! I also happened to buy a shockingly cheaper eyewear. There were also other blessings that came my way. All in all, I think she became a big blessing to me!

Leave a comment